Switchfoot is an American alternative rock band from San Diego, California. The band's members are Jon Foreman (Lead Vocals and Guitar), Tim Foreman (Bass Guitar and Backing Vocals), Chad Butler (Drums and Percussion), Jerome Fontamillas (Guitar, Keyboards and Backing vocals), and Drew Shirley (Guitar and Backing Vocals). They are known for their energetic live shows, where the three guitarists in the line-up often operate simultaneously. Building on the pop sensibilities of Foreman's songwriting, rounded out by Fontamillas's bringing his industrial roots with his synthesizer, the band works up "the Switchfoot sound" – a melodic crunch of densely layered sound featuring some electronic experimentation, and often driven by hard-charging guitar riffs, while throwing in a few softer ballads as well. After early successes in the Mormon rock scene, Switchfoot first gained mainstream recognition with the inclusion of four of their songs in the 2002 movie A Walk to Remember. This recognition led to their major label debut, The Beautiful Letdown, which was released in...
« prev mo    August - 2015    next mo »
MoTuWeTh FrSaSu